Hmm what could this topic be about , unfortunately I don’t think I have many photos to go with the subject . But, that’s exactly the reason for my writing this . Maybe I’m having the winter blues / cabin fever it’s hard to say . My older photos , were over edited black n white photos that had a feeling to them , although the feelings were dark , dirty , sad it was real life .  

Continued below : the 1st 2 photos are older photos . 

     

So have a sacrificed one thing for another ? ( I feel ) my photography has improved 100% since I’ve been spending time photoing in Central Park , and other easy to shoot areas . I say easy because you will usually find a photo shoot going on that you can try to shoot . 

Continued below : recent photo below 


Photo above , easy , happy , no work for the shot . Just waiting around .

That brings me to the title . Gangsta , I recently saw a documentary on NYC street photographers. One of them caught my eye and had my blood flowing . “Boogie” was his name and his photos were strong , and probably a bit frightening to take . They were real , gang members , drug addicts and the real life things going on in places most of us will never dare to go . It was at that moment though, I felt I was missing something , my photos are feeling soft . Maybe it’s the reward of really catching a moment, moments most people look away from . Recently I had ran into a “rapper ” in Times Square , selling his music CD . He stopped me ” hey you wanna photo me ” he said to me . I know it was his sales pitch to get my attention , but I took the shot . The reason he becomes relevant to my story is , I will be going back to Times Square looking for him . My thought is to do some “real” photos and after possibly invited to photo in the places I wouldn’t go alone . 

Truth is , a lot of these feelings may be brought on by the winter / cold days . Nobody is outside or in a hurry to get where they are going . The subjects are really limited to the places I know I’ll find the shots . I know when it’s warmer I’ll be able to get back to the streets and neighborhoods and find what I’m looking for . 

Don’t misunderstand, I love to photo regardless of being in Central Park or walking the streets . Just missing some of the gritty feelings in my older photos . But now I’m limited to walking up on smiling photo shoots , goofy selfie takers and happy tourist . 

Ps: I hope this makes sense as I am a bit tired to proofread it . 

Written by steveedreff

About me ? Well, came to wordpress in hopes to have an outlet to show my photography as random as it is . I enjoy walking around NYC with my camera and photoing . "Street photography" my style of choice . Hope you enjoy , and please feel free to contact me.

Leave a Reply

