I sometimes think of my blog the way George Costanza described the sitcom him and Jerry Seinfeld were writing,  on Seinfeld. George was asked,  whats the show was about ” it’s a show about nothing” he claimed . Well that’s my wordpress at times . 

So today’s nothingness is about my previous photoing . Let’s call it me Pre-Raw days , as now I only shoot in Raw . Well those days were not long ago as I’ve been photoing for just a couple years . But, I had been shooting in Manual setting with monochrome . So 99% of my photos I took till midway through this summer were shot with this monochrome setting . Then I after reading about Raw, I felt it would be much better form of photoing . In the beginning I was a bit discouraged because my photos were all color with this setting . But as time went on , it really opens up a new world for my photos . 

I believe that some shots are meant to be black and white and others deserve the colors . I’ll admit , I had heard complaints at various photo sites about my change, as it was “different” for me and some people enjoyed my BnW photos . But , it’s about me , the opportunity to expand my portfolio , show other sides of my photography .   I now have options , I decide which photos deserve what in editing process . So in the end , my advice to any black and white photographer , use color as your first step . It’s just the click of the button for the BnW. 

Some comparisons , some of the photos below can be either bnw in my opinion others need to stay colored . 

This I prefer in the black and white , it sets a mood and has a bit more feeling then the colored . 


This could go either way in my mind, but again I would favor the BnW here . 


In the case of nature photos , I’ll always lean toward color from now on . Need to show the colors of the animal and backgrounds . 

The model , black and white surely my preference here due to the outfit and makeup .


With the bridge photo, I prefer the colors . But the bnw has a sharper appearance here .

Definitely the colors below , you don’t get the fall appearance in bnw 


Again here I believe the mood is set with bnw . 

Written by steveedreff

About me ? Well, came to wordpress in hopes to have an outlet to show my photography as random as it is . I enjoy walking around NYC with my camera and photoing . "Street photography" my style of choice . Hope you enjoy , and please feel free to contact me.

Leave a Reply

