Well, I had wanted to do a small feature each week of ” People of the Park ” But, unfortunately the person I wanted to begin the story with, I have no photos of yet . He may be in background of many. But will work on getting.

Which brings me to the Predator of the Park. I’m not sure anyone can imagine the size of #centralpark if you have never been there . It’s 843 acres , 2.5 miles from 59th to 110th street and 1/2 mile wide . ( 4km x .8km) so it’s easy to see why you will some unexpected animals there living in the wild .

Continued below :

Which brings me to the ruler of the park . The #redtailhawk I spotted a month or so ago . My first introduction to him was when he was enjoying his lunch in the tree .

Continued below:

It was my next sighting of him about a week or 2 later , I met 2 woman in the park who , seem not only to be bird watchers, but, hawk chasers . Every time this hawk flew away , one lady would hop on her bike the other on foot trying to locate him .

My second sighting of this hawk I managed to get these shots

Continued below :


Now most know that I’m not really much of a nature photographer, choosing to photo people most often doing street photography . But now after the 2nd sighting , just as these woman trying to photo this predator of the park , I have been on a mission to get a clear shot of her in flight .

Well the other day because there was very few subjects (people) to photo I again took to photoing some nature shots .

Continued below:

The 2 hawk chasers showed up , with a few other bird watchers . They located the hawk close to where I was . But, seemed to me the hawk couldn’t be bothered . Sitting on a branch, view blocked by many other branches and I was able to get 1 clear shot . But , I will catch him in a clear flight photo soon . So stay tuned for that shot .

Written by steveedreff

About me ? Well, came to wordpress in hopes to have an outlet to show my photography as random as it is . I enjoy walking around NYC with my camera and photoing . "Street photography" my style of choice . Hope you enjoy , and please feel free to contact me.

Leave a Reply

